What's new

ER: The Complete Eleventh Season - Audio defect?!? (1 Viewer)

yigohgoh

Auditioning
Real Name
Trevor
Hello!

I'm just throwing this question out there in case someone else has experienced the same problem and knows if/how it can be fixed.
I purchased ER: The Complete Eleventh Season back in July when it came out, and noticed immediately when I started playing it that something was off.

In particular, the audio on disc 1, episode 1 seemed to be sped up 4% as if it was from a PAL source or something. My ears picked up on the pitch-change to the opening credits' theme music immediately. I continued watching, and all subsequent episodes were back to normal pitch, so it's not as if I accidentally purchased a PAL version or anything - besides, the box art is marked as Region 1, and I don't have a region-free DVD player or a PAL-capable system that would allow me to play a European/PAL disc anyhow.

I sent an e-mail to Warner Home Video inquiring about the issue, returned my set to them in August as per their instructions and they eventually sent me a replacement set. Apparently, it's the first time they had heard of the issue. I've just put in the replacement set and same problem (sped up audio on episode 1) is present. :(

Have any of you experienced the same problem of sped-up/PAL-ish audio on the 11th Season Premiere?

Christian Preischl

Screenwriter
Real Name
Christian Preischl
I haven't even started watching Season 8 I must admit. ;)

But I just threw in disc one of Season 11 and the first episode is most definitely sped up! Not only is the pitch difference immediately noticeable, the episode is also a full 2 minutes shorter then every other episode on that disc (42.x as opposed to 44,xx) which is consistent with the usual PAL speedup difference. Don't know what happened here but it's definitely screwed up.

yigohgoh

Auditioning
Real Name
Trevor
I appreciate you checking it out, Christian! :)