What's new

Equipment purchase advice needed (1 Viewer)

MikeNagy

Stunt Coordinator
I would like to apologize in advance for my newbie-ishness. I’m sure the most annoying and common post is “What is the best [component type] for [amount of money]??!!” I’m new to these forums and to home theater in general, but I’d like to think that I did at least some of my homework before asking my question.

Anyway, here’s my situation: I’m a college student trying to get the best setup I can with less-than-optimal circumstances. Firstly, the room I’m looking to put my theater in is not rectangular (see diagram) by any means, and I'm not expecting a good and even sound image as a result. Further, I can’t really do any hardcore modifications because I’m renting this house and I'm not the only one living here. Lastly, and regrettably most importantly, I can’t spend TOO much on the system as I am making only $500 a week, and while my living expenses are covered for the time being (the whole living-with-parents-for-the-summer-because-you’re-poor thing sucks) I need to be saving for the coming school year as well.

I currently own an Onkyo HT-S650 HTIB that I can cannibalize for components if need be, but I’m really looking to move up. It was a good system for $350, and it opened my eyes to home theater possibilities, but (un-?)fortunately I’m not tone deaf and can easily hear its limitations.