epson home theater projector info

Discussion in 'Displays' started by JasonSZ, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. JasonSZ

    JasonSZ Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I CURRENTLY HAVE A EPSON HOMELITE 10 PROJECTOR AND I RUN A SCREEN SIZE OF 280" IN MY THEATER. IM LOOKING TO START USING DVI INPUT FOR VIDEO AND WAS WONDERING IF THERE IS A NOTICABLE DIFFERENCE WITH THE UPGRADE FROM COMPONENT CABLES? IM RUNNING A DISTANCE OF 30' FROM MY DVD TO PROJECTOR. IS THE COST WORHT THE RESULT?

    ANY INFO WOULD BE GREAT!
     
  2. Benson R

    Benson R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    280"? Seriously? How far away are you sitting? I dont know anything about that particular projector, but you should notice a huge diff from s-video to dvi.

    Write now, by using s-video you are having the projector deinterlace the image. Since I believe that model pj in on the low end, the built in deinterlacer is probably pretty poor. If you actually have a dvd player with a dvi connection, then the deinterlacer in the player is probably far better. And even if the epson pj has a really good deinterlacer, you should at least run component cables to the pj. You will notice a significant diff over s-video.

    Also, some friendly advice, there is no need to shout here, you'll get more responses faster. Good luck, hope this all makes sense.
     
  3. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    280" ???

    Good luck!!
     
  4. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    280"???


    I did not even think that projector could produce this, just looking at the throw specs and stuff.


    It's an LCD (digital) it may like DVI, but beware, not all DVI sources can send 480p period. many start at 720p.
     
  5. Jim Mcc

    Jim Mcc Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,757
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, WI.
    Real Name:
    Jim
    Jason, the Home 10 doesn't have a DVI input, SORRY. You're probably thinking of the VGA input it has. Stick with the component cables.
     

Share This Page