What's new

episode speakers, How are they? (1 Viewer)

mxmxmxmx

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve sherman
I am new to HT, I am getting quotes now and one installer wants to use Episode speakers, He quoted Episode A6-CLR-4 for the front channel and A4- series in Ceiling for the surround using a 10" PSB Sub. these are powered by a Pioneer VSX-91TXH.

The second installer quoted Polk TC625I inwall speakers with RTIA1B shelf speakers with a Martin Logan Sub. powered by a Yamaha RXV663 .

My Question is are the Episode speakers up to par with the Polk ?

The 7 polks are 150.00 each, The Martin logan Sub is 600.00 for a total of $1650.00 for the one installer.

The 7 episodes and the PSB sub is $1419.00 form the other installer.

I have 1600.00 - 2000.00 in the budget for speakers. what's the best for this price rance?

mylan

Screenwriter
I've never heard or heard of them until just now, I doubt many people on here have either. I went to their site and they look ok and have a lifetime warranty but there one glaring omission I see, there is no way of contacting them, no phone number, no e-mail address, I would look toward the Polk/Martin Logan set-up, although you are not locked into just those brands unless the installer is a dealer and balks at installing something else.

Oh yeah, best in this price range is going to get many suggestions other than the two choices you mentioned. If you must go in-walls, Polk would be a decent choice, for $600 I would look into SVS, www.svsound.com, if you can do bookshelf speakers, SVS has you covered there as well.

SteveHayes

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve
Greetings!

Glad I found this forum to help dismiss some of the myths of this crazy industry....