What's new

Enter the "Buttkicker" unquote (1 Viewer)

Oscar_R

Second Unit
I don't know how I feel about this thing....
Link Removed
and most of you probably though i was being crass with that title huh?

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Greg
This is a popular item in many Home Theaters. It gives you the tactile feedback of bass w/o the high SPLs (and potential hearing damage). Smaller, less powerful units are available from other companies as well...

Jim_F

Screenwriter
I hope to be able to provide an initial opinion next week. I've received my Buttkicker2 and am waiting for the amp, which is due Friday. I hope to have them installed and tweaked in time for movies before my SB party.

It stands to be an awesome unit, the manufacturer claims it's good down to 5 Hz!

Bear in mind that the 1000W amp most often recommended to go with it runs another $400.

John H

Second Unit
I have been using tactile transducers in my system for a few years now. My first installation was an array of 8 RBH FX80 models. (ultra high performance Aura units)
I eventually replaced the entire array with a pair of Clark Synthesis 329F units. I upgraded to a pair of Platinum models when they made their debut.
I have been using a pair of the original Buttkckers for over a year now. I started out driving each unit with a Carvin DCM1000 bridged mono @ 1000w
I now drive each BK unit with a Crown K2 bridged @ 2500w.
The step up from the RBH array to the Clarks was a large performance improvement. The Clarks are exceptional units.
The Buttkicker is king of all tactile transducers. When it comes to low frequency extension and output the Buttkicker dramatically excels. It has no peers. It is very tight and controled as well.