Energy Connoisseurs, warm or bright sounding?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by eryn shannon, Feb 5, 2004.

1. eryn shannon

eryn shannon Stunt Coordinator

Are the energy connoisseur speakers considered warm or bright sounding? What receiver would work well with this line of speakers, if used for a 50/50 mix of movies and music. Thanks!

2. Luitz

Luitz Stunt Coordinator

I dont know what did you think of them??
    Did you find them warm or bright with what amp ?

[​IMG] [​IMG]

3. eryn shannon

I haven't had a chance to audition them yet. But once I do I probably won't know wheather they are warm or bright sounding as I have little experience with speakers. I just wnated to know if they were warm or bright sounding so I know what a warm or bright speaker sounds like and get an idea of what to listen for. [​IMG]

4. Lee Distad

Lee Distad Stunt Coordinator

Which pair of Connoisseurs are you considering? Towers or bookshelves?

To my mind, the C-series are bright, due to their metal tweeter. Bright, but not harsh or shrill. That said, they are a very open and accurate speaker, especially the C7 tower.

5. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

I'd agree. Slightly forward, but not edgy or harsh. Just revealing and detailed.

6. Lee Distad

My preference for amplifying the C7 or C9, for arguments sake, would be a Marantz reciever with a lot of guts, like the SR6400 or SR7400, that will bring out the bottom end that the Connoisseurs have in them, but need encouragement to deliver.

Going upmarket, and off topic, last year I put together a pair of Veritas 2.3's with the Marantz SR9200. That was a setup that was
    very full, rich, and downright thumpy.

For the record, the demo track that sealed that deal on the receiver was Ice Cube's Gone in 60 Seconds, both for it's stereo imaging, and it's deep, crisp boom.

7. eryn shannon