Electrical Surge question

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Tony Mc, Jul 21, 2004.

  1. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before I plunk down my hard earned cash on a $2-4k TV, I have a question about the electrical surge in my home. When my central A/C unit cycles on
    every 10-15 minutes or so, my house lights dim for a second or so then brighten back up. The surge doesn't seem to effect my 32" CRT TV, but I was wondering from the experienced folks here if I should be concerned about how these repeated electrical surges can have on a large rptv? I'm not sure if an UPS can help at all, because the surge only lasts for a second or less. I currently use an $80 Monster brand surge protector that my CRT TV is using. It is currently listed for $79 at CC. It is the "Monster Cable Clean Power™ 8-Outlet Surge Protector for PCs and Peripherals", model #MOC MPPC800HP. The listed joules is 1665. I hope this model surge protector is good enough. I will most likely buy an UPS the same time that I purchase the new TV. Any advise will be helpful. Thanks.
     
  2. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're present surge protector should suffice but it sounds like your house wiring could use some professional attention. The AC system should be on a separate circuit and not cause the lights to dim when it turns on. (At least mine doesn't) Your best solution would be to have a separate line run for you HT gear straight to the panel...best of all worlds but maybe not practicle...made me feel better doing it that way.

    For incoming spikes/surges, a panel guard (Intermatic or the like) is pretty cheap insurance and will protect everything in the house. I had one installed and IIRC, the entire price to purchase the unit and have it installed was under $200....YMMV

    Mort
     
  3. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the advise. I plan on having my electric system checked and/or upgraded.
     
  4. ScottLR

    ScottLR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should also use a voltage regulator. They vary widely in price, but some good ones are always on EBAY. Tripplite is a good brand, and there are many others, some very inexpensive but not marketed to audio/videophiles. Do a Froogle search also.
     
  5. Abe Rodrigue

    Abe Rodrigue Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am electrician by trade, and you don't have a surge of electricity, you have a lack of it. The lights are dimming because of the start up current needed by the AC compressor. That is where I would start, sounds like the compressor is drawing way to much current. Mort is right on, if that AC unit is sharing a circuit with something else it is a no-no. It sould be on a two pole 20 amp breaker, maybe even a 30 amp if it is big enough. Good luck!
     
  6. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Abe, thanks much for the info great info. An electrician will be coming to my home soon to correct this problem.
     

Share This Page