What's new

Ebay: accept a check payment from a 23+ feedback buyer? (1 Viewer)

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
Alright, I'm still very new to ebay and not wanting to get screwed. I have a question from a possible buyer of one of my things that so far is not selling but has 9 watchers, auction ends tomorrow morning and I'm trying to respond asap to them.

Here's the question

Q: Hi Wanting to get a system for my children. I was wondering if you would accept a check, and of course not ship the item until the check cleared. Or I could send cash in the mail (I have never had a problem doing this). I live in Ontario. Please email me back ASAP as the auction ends soon - if I do not hear from you, and the auction ends without a bid, I hope that the system may still be for sale. Thanks in advance for your response (name edited out by me)

She's got 23+ feedback dating back to 2001, gold star, one negative feedback (backed out of an auction after shipping price doubled). Only one feedback last year. Would you do it?

Thanks - much help appreciated.

Citizen87645

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cameron Yee
She understands you won't ship until the check clears, so she knows it will be at least a week. I've always thought the sellers are at an advantage since at some point you wind up with the money and the item for sale. The only reason she would write you a dummy check is if she actually DOESN'T want the item and just wants to screw you with a return check fee. And she gets nothing out of it except some sick pleasure. I doubt this is the case. If you're feeling especially cautious, why can't she send a money order? It's just as good as cash and safer to send.

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
Thanks Cameron - I told her I would accept it with the understanding that I not sell it until the check clears, and suggested a money order to her. Hopefully I'll receive a response soon

Chris

Senior HTF Member