What's new

easy speaker question about "monitors" (1 Viewer)

Anthony Moore

Supporting Actor
Im fairly new to the HT scene, but am learning a lot.
Im thinking about buying some Wharfedale Monitor speakers, except for the fact that I dont know what the "Monitor" in Wharfedale Monitors means. It seems to be categorized in a "bookshelf" category. Am I wrong? I know theyre floorstanding.
Do these make good mains? Not the Wharfedaled specifically, but monitors in general. Could someone explain the difference?

Marty M

Senior HTF Member
I am not familiar with the Wharfdale line, but Paradigm sells a series of speakers in a Monitor series. These speakers vary in size from a small bookshelf speaker with one woofer and tweeter to several floor standing models with two or three woofers and tweeters. I am not sure the word monitor has any real definition when it comes to speakers.

Jah-Wren Ryel

Stunt Coordinator
My understanding is that the term "monitor" indicates a speaker that is designed to be unbiased or as transparent as possible with a flat response-curve so that no frequency range is any louder, for equal power, than any other frequencies. It is very hard to get a perfectly flat response curve, but they make the effort. Because of the flat curve, some people may feel that music played through monitors lacks "punch."
I have a full complement of Wharfedale's previous line of monitors (the MFM-5 and MFM-7 series) which I did buy from ubid and am very happy with them. So are most of the people who have reviewed them here:
http://audioreview.com/reviews/speaker/index_W.shtml

rin

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Anthony,
I just sold a pair of Wharfedale MFM-7's. They sounded great with lots of detail, and dynamics weren't too bad either. I only sold them because all of my other speakers are B&W's and I wanted the mains to match so I went with B&W 604's. The 604's sound better but I don't even want to think about how much more they cost.
eek.gif