1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

easy speaker question about "monitors"

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Anthony Moore, Aug 9, 2001.

1. Anthony Moore

Anthony Moore Supporting Actor

Im fairly new to the HT scene, but am learning a lot.
    Im thinking about buying some Wharfedale Monitor speakers, except for the fact that I dont know what the "Monitor" in Wharfedale Monitors means. It seems to be categorized in a "bookshelf" category. Am I wrong? I know theyre floorstanding.
    Do these make good mains? Not the Wharfedaled specifically, but monitors in general. Could someone explain the difference?

2. Brian Perry

Brian Perry Cinematographer

Hi Anthony,
    Whenever I see the word "monitor," I think "small."

3. Marty M

Marty M Cinematographer

I am not familiar with the Wharfdale line, but Paradigm sells a series of speakers in a Monitor series. These speakers vary in size from a small bookshelf speaker with one woofer and tweeter to several floor standing models with two or three woofers and tweeters. I am not sure the word monitor has any real definition when it comes to speakers.

4. Anthony Moore

Anthony Moore Supporting Actor

so, if i am now using some old Fishers (they sound pretty good), would it be wise to upgrade to some of these:
    http://www.ubid.com/actn/opn/getpage...tionId=5388770
    Im not buying them from ubid, but those are them. My friend has a pair that he wants to sell for $100. Good deal? I cant really afford too much more. Thanks for the input.

5. Jah-Wren Ryel

Jah-Wren Ryel Stunt Coordinator