Easy and Inexpensive HTML editor recommendations

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay H, Apr 1, 2002.

1. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay
    My sister has her own small business (arts and crafts) and she would like to do a webpage. I have done webpages before with Javascript and stuff but I have simply used Notepad as my editor. I can teach her the basics of most all of HTML 4.0 and some simple javascript and CGI scripting but I thought it would be much simpler for her to use a good and easy to use HTML editor, something that simplies the use of IMAGE tags and stuff. Very basic, but something that's easier to do than Notepad for somebody that is not a programmer.

Any recommendations? Do you think MS Word's HTML filter is useful enough to do simple pages?

I can probably add a Java or Javascript Navbar for her in the future, or use Frames, but for simply pages, do you think that MS is a good enough platform, I've never used it for HTML before?

Jay

2. Andre F

Andre F Screenwriter

I've used CoffeeCup for a while and liked it. It's about $50.00 so it's not too expensive. It has quite a few features and I was able to accomplish a lot with it. Check it out
    here.
    -Andre F

3. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay
    DaveF, seems like the first two is on Domainame/Web Hosting which I'm not interested in and Dreamweaver is too expensive. Which I tried to point out that I was looking for an inexpensive HTML editor. But thanks for the links anyway.

My sister who is not much into computers is not interested at all in using Flash or anything superfancy, her arts and crafts business is a side project but many people have kind of asked if she had a website which she doesn't. She has an ISP though which offers 5MB of webspace and that is probably adequate for a small website with small JPGs.