Eagles HFO

Discussion in 'Music' started by Yung, May 19, 2005.

1. Yung

Yung Stunt Coordinator

I'm new to multi-channel music and want to pick up the Eagles Hell Freezes Over. There seems to be a few different ones out there. Which of these are the best to get?

h ttp://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=40106896&loc=322&sp=1

h ttp://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=60601994&loc=109&sp=1

h ttp://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=40106903&loc=322&sp=1

2. Robert Powers

Robert Powers Stunt Coordinator

It all depends on what you are looking for (or listening for).

The first and last ones are concert dvds with video. These are played in digital mode (preferably DTS). They also have a choice of playing in PCM which is similar to Dolby Digital.

The middle one is DVD-Audio. This one has still pictures with hires surround sound. For this one you must have a dvd player that is capable of playing DVD-Audio. This must be played in the analog mode in order to get the full effect. If your system is setup for this correctly the sound will be awesome!

3. Yung

Yung Stunt Coordinator

Robert,
    Thanks for your reply. I have an entry level universal dvd player, so I am looking to test out some multi-channel media like SACD and DVD-Audio.

I also posted this question over at AVS and a member there told me the middle one is not really DVD-Audio, it is a DTS-CD.

Do you own or have heard any of the ones I listed? How do they compare to you?

4. Robert Powers

I believe the AVS member was correct. I think the only DVD-Audio that the Eagles have is "Hotel California". It sounds really good. The first one you have listed, the concert video, is one of the best sounding live dvds out there. It is often used as a reference for sound quality.

Some of my favorite DVD-Audios in addition to Hotel California are:

Fleetwood Mac - Rumours
    Queen - A Night at the Opera
    Queen - The Game
    The Doors - LA Woman
    REM - In Time: The Best Of
    Carly Simon - No Secrets