1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

EAC will NOT rip this track. What to do next?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad Ellinger, Jun 29, 2002.

  1. Chad Ellinger

    Chad Ellinger Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the process of converting my CD collection to MP3s using EAC and LAME. The process has gone smoothly for the most part, but now I've come across a track (GNR Civil War) that will NOT rip.
    In Secure Mode, I get read and sync errors. In burst mode, the resulting MP3 has all sorts of skipping problems. When I play the CD, I don't notice any trouble whatsoever. I bought the CD less than two years ago, and there are no scratches or smudges on the bottom. I've tried ripping on my Pioneer DVD-116 and my HP 8100i.
    So what can I do? Here are my possible options:
    1. Try resurfacing the CD. Never tried this before. Has anyone had good or bad experiences with these gadgets?
    2. Get a new CD burner. I'm due for one anyway (still using my 4 year old 4x). Would a better drive have better luck with DAE? Also, I know Plextors have a great rep for DAE. How are Lite-Ons in comparison?
    3. Get a new CD.
    Any other suggestions or recommendations?
     
  2. Patrick Cate

    Patrick Cate Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 1998
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My only suggestion would be to try another program to rip this particular CD. At the very least this should narrow down whether the problem is with the CD or EAC. I'd suggest trying CDex, MusicMatch, Media Jukebox, and/or Nero. I would at least try this before you consider buying a new CD or burner. Sorry I couldn't help more.
     
  3. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can temporality disable the error-correcting mode in EAC. Tell EAC to instead do a two-pass comparison (it reads the track twice, making sure both reads are the same). This mode was EAC's original ripping method, and a good fall-back for CDROMs without the error-correcting ability.
     
  4. Andy Olivera

    Andy Olivera Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had a similar problem before and it was fixed by not using the "Detect Gaps" feature. Try using or not using this...

    A question of my own, now(no sense in starting a new EAC thread). Is there a way to get EAC to rip a CD as one continuous track?
     
  5. Greg_Y

    Greg_Y Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  6. Andy Olivera

    Andy Olivera Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, Greg. That's exactly what I was looking for...
     

Share This Page