What's new

EAC/LAME - what settings are you using? (1 Viewer)

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
Hi,

I am new to this whole ripping/encoding business, and do not wish to spend hours fine-tunning and finding the best possible settings, when this package has been used for years and there is probably some optimal settings floating around.

Surely, most users must adhere to some kind of standard?

Thanks.

--
H

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
That's the problem Linda :). The purpose of this thread is to avoid reinvinting the wheel and all the pain involved. Getting bogged down in computer matters just isn't as fun as it used to be.

Thanks for the link.

--
H

Rob Gardiner

Senior HTF Member
Holadem,

I use the standards developed by the fine folks at www.ubernet.org .

Here is the UberStandard in detail.

Here is the UberGuide with pre-made CFG files, which saves you the trouble of making all the necessary settings manually.

I have been pleased with the results (have done all my rips in the last 2 years to these standards) and have no reason to change.

I hope this helps!!! :)

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
I have not tried them yet, but newer versions of LAME support simplified switches. You can find more information here. The old switch settings still work -- at least with version 3.96 that I am using.

Peter Kim

Screenwriter
I'm still using the setup as detailed by Chris Myden at BestMP3Guide.com .

As far as the compression settings are concerned, I started out with "--alt-preset extreme" and moved to "--alt-preset insane" once I upgraded to my 60 gb iPod video. Figured I have enough space to indulge in any fledgling audiophile aspirations.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Just for reference, here are the switch settings I'm using for 192K vbr encoding via LAME 3.96:

--alt-preset standard --add-id3v2 --pad-id3v2 --ta "%a" --tt "%t" --tl "%g" --ty "%y" --tn "%n" %s %d