EAC/Lame, now I'm seeking help, new DVD drive

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Paul Bartlet, Jan 1, 2005.

1. Paul Bartlet

Paul Bartlet Stunt Coordinator

I've been using EAC/Lame for a few years now, with great results, the best in my opinion.
    I just got a Plextor 712A DVD for xmas, and it's ripping slower than my old Plextor 12/10/32A (approx 3-4 years old).
    Just viewing the extraction window, I'm seeing a max of about 7x with new drive, I got about 7-15x with old drive.
    Is there some way to have EAC perform a speed test on the new drive. I had to play around with the Drive settings to get it working, but I don't believe it's working as fast as it should.

Plextor drives come with PlexTools, and I've read that it's very good at audio extraction as well. But I couldn't get CDDB working correctly (would display Album name, but tracks were not listed). Guess I should try a few tracks to see max speed.

But EAC/Lame been my friend for years, anything I may be missing on trying to get to perform a speed test on my new drive ?.
    Currently, my CD-ROM (4 years old) is faster, somethings not right here.
    Any suggestions, thx in advance.

2. Scott L

Scott L Producer

With error correction on the disc drive should be spinning around 5x.

3. Paul Bartlet

Paul Bartlet Stunt Coordinator

ok so then the speeds I'm getting are normal. I was thinking maybe 15-20x. I can live with it as they do turn out perfect quality.

I've found a few settings that may help others useing EAC/Lame. So should anyone search this here, this should come in handy.

-------------------------------------------------
    Recommended encoder settings:
    -------------------------------------------------

--alt-preset standard (~190 kbit/s, typical 180 ... 220)

--alt-preset fast standard (~190 kbit/s, faster but potentially lower quality)

--alt-preset extreme (~250 kbit/s, typical 220 ... 270)

--alt-preset fast extreme (~250 kbit/s, faster but potentially lower quality)