DVI retro-fit feasible?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Warren VUR, Aug 23, 2003.

1. Warren VUR

Warren VUR Auditioning

Hi all,
    Is it feasible to retro-fit DVI to my gear (Sony VPL-VW10HT lcd projector, HD STBox, DVD player.) I am pretty happy with what we've got and do not wish to replace just to get this feature?
    Thanks in anticipation

2. Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby Second Unit

"I am pretty happy with what we've got and do not wish to replace just to get this feature"

-I think you just answered your own question. Why do you feel the need to retrofit? Are you looking at a new piece of equipment that has DVI capability to it? Even if there were some way to "retrofit", it would just be a workaround and wouldn't replicated a true signal.

3. Warren VUR

Warren VUR Auditioning

Hi Mathew,
    "Even if there were some way to "retrofit", it would just be a workaround and wouldn't replicated a true signal."

I'm no electronics expert, but I know the gear has a digital signal in there somewhere ahead of the D/A converter, and I want to tap into it. I reckon it has to be the truest signal too, or at least truer than the "anal"ogue once through the converter.

Here's where I am coming from.

Ever since I became aware that the inexpensive Bravo DVD player, using its DVI to a LCD projector (a true digital display device), gives a better pic than an exotically-priced Denon with analogue output only, I thought hey, an upgrade to the BEST costing $100’s instead of changeover to new costing $1000’s, IF I can somehow bypass the A/D & D/A converters in everything.

It also appealed to the purist in me i.e. preserving the signal in the digital domain all the way from source to display keeps all sorts of degradation out of it.