DVI or Component - Please help

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Mike Littrell, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. Mike Littrell

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A buddy of mine just got Brighthouse HD service and the tech told him not to waste his time using the DVI cable he bought and to just go with component. Is there much of a difference between the two? He has the Sony 51" 510 series.
    Also, his channels up to around 70 or so are grainy and crappy looking, what can be done about this?
     
  2. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There probably won't be a huge difference with his set. Digital display technologies generally benefit from a DVI input much more than analog.

    In terms of the channels under 70 looking bad, it's because they're very poorly quality to begin with (analog cable).
     
  3. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    590
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    i just got the comcast hd tuner box and it apparently is dvi and firewire enabled
    so is my tv a mits 73713.

    so should i get a dvi cable and how much should i expect to pay for one.

    i found this at best buy doe $100
    Monster Cable Monster Cable 2m DVI Video Cable for HDTV

    Model: DVI400-2M

    and this:
    Monster Cable 1m DVI Video Cable for HDTV

    Model: 124728

    for $80.

    this seems like alot of money and i only use the comcast box for 3 channels
    comcast sportsnet, inhd, inhd2.

    anything less expensive out there?
     
  4. Brent_j

    Brent_j Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tony, with the cost of your TV, what do you care if the most expensive cable is $100? even if it is for only 3 channels?? BTW, that is a fairly good price for a 2m DVI cable. I have the Mits 65313 and spent $149.00 for my DVI cable also I have not been able to tell any difference between the DVI and component, as I also have Comcast HD service as well.

    Brent.
     
  5. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For something as short as 2m, don't go with an expensive cable.

    $22
     
  6. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    590
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    the cost of the tv doesnt have anything to do with it.why do people always say that.

    what it does have to do with is the am't of money i have to spend.
    i dont have $100 to spend on a 2 ft peice of cable for only 3 channels.

    thats why i'm in this thread to find out if there are any cables that are less expensive then $100.
    you offered a cable that is even MORE expensive so no thanks.
     
  7. Brent_j

    Brent_j Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    How was I offering you a cable??!!?? I was telling you that I spent 149 bucks for my cable so for $100 I think you found a good price.

    I have not seen a good quality DVI cable for cheap, but I have not been looking for one that hard as well, so good luck to you! [​IMG]

    Brent.
     
  8. Rutgar

    Rutgar Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try cablestogo.com.

    - Rutgar
     

Share This Page