Dvdo Iscan Plus On The Blink !!!!

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by T r o y, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. T r o y

    T r o y Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a first generation DVDO Iscan plus unit. Today I think it went out on me. There are no power lights or other lights on the unit. I've checked all connections and all are fine.

    Does anyone else have a DVDO ISCAN plus unit that has gone out on them ? What did you find that was wrong with it?

    The unit is about 5 years old.

    Thanks for any help given.

    Troy
     
  2. Dale Adams

    Dale Adams Extra

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Troy,

    If there are no lights on at all, it's most likely the power supply. You can get a replacement by contacting DVDO customer support at 1-866-423-DVDO, or you can check their website at www.dvdo.com.

    - Dale Adams
     
  3. T r o y

    T r o y Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dale,

    Thanks for your input. Yes that's the response I got from a friend of mine too. I will call DVDO today and hopefully they'll get me out a new power supply.
    I sure am glad that it is only this and not something more major. I would hate to know I would have to fork out $$$ for another line doubler.
    Next year , I hope to move up to a video scaler like the
    Focus Enhancement CS-HD unit for $995.

    Thanks for your help and I'll post later on my success of getting another power supply.

    Later!
    Troy
    [​IMG]
     
  4. T r o y

    T r o y Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have some good news [​IMG]
    I received my new and improved power supply yesterday from DVDO, hooked it up and Wha La... LED lights on and seeing an image once again!![​IMG] Wheww!

    Now that I have it hooked back up again, is it recommended that you have these ISCAN's on all the time (like standby mode) or turn off and on as needed???

    I have mine hooked to a monster 3500 in the TV outlet
    which I believe is a unswitched outlet. When I power on and off the monster, the IScan remains in a "auto sensing" mode.

    Is this good?

    Anyway, glad to have my IScan back up and running. Now off to the movies!

    Later,
    Troy
     
  5. T r o y

    T r o y Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    To answer my own question, I chatted with a tech rep. from DVDO and they told me that leaving the ISCAN unit on all the time , as in standby mode, would not hurt the unit at all. The unit does not produce any heat , of any concern, so it is fine to leave unit on always.

    Have a Good One!!
    Troy
     

Share This Page