DVD Review: Jim Croce Live

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Gary_E, Mar 12, 2004.

1. Gary_E

Gary_E Second Unit

May 6, 1999
    I was a sophomore in high school when Leroy Brown was a hit on the radio in the early seventies. A friend of mine lent me his album, You Don't Mess Around With Jim and I was hooked. As an aspiring guitar player, I was struck by the sound he generated, both from his acoustic guitar melodies and his lyrical ability to tell a simple story by creating interesting characters. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown was a song generating a lot of radio airplay and Jim Croce was beginning to get hot as an artist.

Shortly thereafter, he was killed in an airplane accident.

He mostly did gigs in small clubs and his mainstream popularity soared following his sudden death. The only video performance I remember seeing of him, was an appearance he made on The Midnight Special television show performing Leroy Brown.

While scouring through a music DVD standup display at Best Buy, I was surprised to see this title among other $11.99 discs. The packaging didn’t yield much information about the source of the video or the quality of the audio but it didn’t matter since I’ve always sought any type of video presentation of his music.

All of the footage is shot in small venues and as Croce himself states during the presentation, he preferred performing in these intimate settings. The quality of the video and audio on this DVD ranges from good to fair. Considering the obvious low budget taping quality, coupled with the fact that the videos are thirty years old, the greatness that was Croce still shines through. The audio is 2 channel dolby stereo and is nothing spectacular but consistently clear and crisp.