What's new

DVD Recorder with HD?? (1 Viewer)

StanGC

Auditioning
Real Name
Stan Cole
I am a newbie to this site and my knowledge of home theater equipment is very limited. My wife records cooking shows on our DVR and would like to transfer some to a DVD for future reference ... like a cook book on DVD. What is the best way to do this? Is there a DVR with a DVD recorder?

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter
Do you mean HD = high definition or HD = hard drive?

DVD-R only can record in standard definition. There do exist DVD recorders that have hard drives, you can record shows in SD then burn them on to DVDs.

High-definition DVRs record in HD so they don't combine them with DVD-Rs, at least not in the U.S. Japan you can get some with a blu-ray recorder. What you can do is record in HD on the DVR, then connect a standard DVD-recorder, and record from the standard def S-video output.

Alternately, you could get a TivoHD recorder, and transfer files (other than copy protected stuff like HBO) via network to a computer. This preserves them in high-definition and you can transfer them back to the Tivo later. You can use various software to burn to DVD, either in standard SD format for any player, or in actual HD that can be read in certain Blu-ray players (not std DVD players).

Also those cooking shows might be available for purchase, or on an internet site, depending on the show.

Andrew M

Second Unit
Real Name
Andrew Melomet
Originally Posted by StanGC ">[/url]

I am a newbie to this site and my knowledge of home theater equipment is very limited. My wife records cooking shows on our DVR and would like to transfer some to a DVD for future reference ... like a cook book on DVD. What is the best way to do this? Is there a DVR with a DVD recorder?[/QUOTE]Take a look at the Magnavox 2160:
[u] H2160MW9-RB HDD & DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner - REFURBISHED