DVD recorder with 80 GB HD $278... comments?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Mirko, Dec 7, 2004.

1. Mirko

Mirko Agent

2. Bryan_P

Bryan_P Stunt Coordinator

My only thought with regard to the Wal-Mart deal is that it is a brand I've never heard of (though I'm no expert) and they sell it at Wal-Mart (which I dislike as much as most people on this forum dislike Bose).

If it seems too good to be true, it probably is. But...if there's anyone on this forum who has one and tells us it's not crap, I'd be interested....

3. Adam*M

Adam*M Stunt Coordinator

One thing I always wondered about these DVD recorders: Do they convert the composite/s-video input to component output on the fly? Could this be connected between my D* TiVo and a projector, giving me component video? Or is the component output only active when playing a DVD on the unit?

4. Benson R

Benson R Supporting Actor

I checked on avsforum, and there seems to be some talk about ilo, and they seem to be rebadged liteon players/recorders.

I have never used a liteon recorder, but I do use the 2001 upscaling player with my front projector and it produces the sharpest output I have ever seen. The build quality leaves a little to be desired, but the image quality is undeniable.

I have not used them myself, but I have heard good things about their dvd recorder line. However they have saved some money on their units by cheaping out in certain areas. Namely the sound that is recorded on discs is in mpeg audio instead of dolby, which may cause some compatibility problems with older dvd players. Also the tuner in many of their recorders is mono not stereo.

5. Wes

Wes Screenwriter

Wes Peterson