DVD Recorder -> Personal Player?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by David Hardy, Jul 22, 2004.

1. David Hardy

David Hardy Auditioning

Please excuse a daft question from a newbie,I am a novice in the world of DVD recording, first post here.

Could someone please explain (in words that I might understand) what I would need to buy and what the procedure would be to produce a DVD recording of a TV programme that would play on my Panasonic portable DVD player, I assume a DVD reorder would do the job ??

What format. DVD+, DVD-RAM, I have no idea?

Do I have to 'finalise' a disk?

What about menu structure, and the adverts?

TIA

David
    UK

2. Scott Dautel

Scott Dautel Second Unit

No problem David ... this is an easy one.

The simplist way to do what you are asking is to purchase a stand-alone DVD recorder. This box functions much like a VCR ... it accepts a cable (antenna) input signal and records to blank disks. In the USA, typical street prices for such a unit run from US$200 - $600.

In fact, Panasonic makes a great series of DVD recorders. The Panasonic series record to DVD-R (one time write) or DVD-RAM (rewritable). DVD-R (or DVD+R, for that matter) will probably play fine on your Panny portable after finalizing (a 3-4 minute process). DVD-RAM likely will NOT play on your portable (check the manual). However DVD-RAM will play on many Panny, Toshiba, & Samsung low cost home players

Other DVD Recorder manufacturers make units that record to [DVD-R / DVD-RW] or [RVD+R / DVD+RW]. These are fine too and their +R & -R recordings will probably play fine in your portable as I said.