What's new

DVD Recorder Newb (1 Viewer)

Tim Holyoke

Second Unit
I'm new to the world of DVD recording...I'm getting a DVD burner soon, and am interested in DVD recorders.

Do DVD recorders operate a lot like a VCR? Can you record 1:1 copies in real time, or does it take longer?

I would want it mostly for recording TV shows or movies I've saved on my DirecTivo. I'm assuming it is, but is this legal? For example, I've got all episodes of Lost saved on my Tivo, and would like to make my own "DVD set" for future viewing, so I don't have to keep them on my Tivo forever.

How would it work in conjunction with my DirecTivo?

I'm the type who has a 10 year old 32" RCA TV and thinks it's just fine, so I wouldn't need the best by any means. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Tim

PS- any FAQs you can point me to? Thanks.

Elizabeth S

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Elizabeth S
Hi Tim,

I have the Pioneer 420 and Toshiba XS-32 recorders. They are wonderful, and I rarely touch the VCR now. Yes, they can be programmed much like a VCR, except the fast access, quality and editing capabilities are wonderful.

I don't have TIVO, so am not sure of the details of recording from there. You CAN do it in real time, I understand.

The AVS Forum has a nice section devoted to recorders where owners/would-be owners discuss all the little minutiae of recorders and brands:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...hp?forumid=106

ChuckSolo

Screenwriter
Tim, I got a DVD recorder a couple of months ago and it does in fact operate exactly like a VCR. I have archived a few 8MM tapes on it so far as well as some VHS tapes I had laying around and the results are great. I have a unit without a hard drive so it is basically exactly like a VCR. Anyway, I like it a lot.

Jeff Bamberger

Second Unit