DVD-R or DVD+R ?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Kevin C Brown, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

I am just getting into DVD recording. I haven't yet seen an answer to this one yet (or ... maybe I haven't looked hard enough yet [​IMG] ).

What are the differences between these two?

If I get a recorder that can record both, any advantage to one or the other? Compatibility with DVD players? Cost of media? Is the media the same, just a different format?

Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Fredster

Fredster Stunt Coordinator

There is no essential feature difference as far as I know. The -R format is much more likely to play in other DVD players though. I think that's also true for the -RW format.

Good info here:
    http://www.webopedia.com/DidYouKnow/...sExplained.asp

or go google....

3. Steve Phillips

Steve Phillips Screenwriter

Most any DVD player made in the 21st Century is going to play DVD-R, DVD+R and DVD+RW. (DVD-RW is actually much less compatible, especially with recordings made in "VR" mode.)

There are many DVD drives and DVD recorders that will handle both the "dash or minus" and "plus" platforms for recording, too. Check out recent Sony and Panasonic models.

4. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

Awesome. I did some google searching, and found exactly the same thing as what you both say. Thanks.

At least one reference I found said that +R material was more expensive than -R, but I don't know if that might have been an old data point. I get my recorder later this week, and then I'll go look for prices on the media. [​IMG]

5. Steve Phillips

Steve Phillips Screenwriter

There is no difference in price, at least in the Las Vegas area.

6. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

Yeah, I just checked BB today, and same price. Probably an older data point from when +R was newer.

7. MikeySmith

MikeySmith Extra

I have had much more success with +R playing in my various dvd players. Way too many issues with the -R

8. MikeySmith