DVD player cleaners...any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Nate Anderson, Nov 16, 2001.

1. Nate Anderson

Nate Anderson Screenwriter

I'm in the market for a cleaner. I have never used one before, but figured tonight I probably should. Is one kind better than the others, or are they all pretty much the same?
    I figured you guys would be the best ones to ask...
    ------------------
    "This is my verse, hello?"
    My Extensive DVD collection.

2. David Lambert

David Lambert Executive Producer

I'm sure I'll get flamed for this and someone will "straighten me out", but I used to be in the retail biz (computer software & video game consoles, like Playstation), and I got to try out a lot of different CD and CD-ROM cleaner kits. For both the discs and the players.
    They are all the same to me. The super-expensive ones did no better a job than the el cheapos.
    I use any old CD/CD-ROM cleaning kit on my DVD's and DVD player. I have over 900 discs and the same player for over 2 years. No problems yet.
    People are gonna reply and tell you to save even that much money and use various do-it-yourself items on the discs, at least. To me, it's worth the small money to get a kit and save the hassle. The kits last a looooong time!
    If I need a fresh one I pick it up cheaply whereever I happen to be: Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Toys R Us, Sam Goody, etc.
    Good luck.
    ------------------
    DAVE/Memphis
    [​IMG]
    MORE TV ON DVD, PLEASE!
    Do you like TV on DVD? Then check THIS out!
    ..... http://www.tvshowsondvd.com/ .....
    [Edited last by David Lambert on November 16, 2001 at 05:00 AM]

3. Gordon Moore

Gordon Moore Second Unit

Suggestions....yup...don't use one. Unless you live in a really dusty environment and you are noticing consistant problems and it's off warranty and the moon is in alignment with the earth, I would still say get a pro to clean it.