What's new

DVD format? (1 Viewer)

My recent HT upgrade includes my first DVD player, so I'm new to DVDs. I have a 27" TV. What format should I buy, Wide Screen or Full Screen? My player has the Pan & Scan feature if that matters. TIA...

MichaelGomez

Stunt Coordinator
Depends on what you like. Pan and Scan stretches and then cuts out info. Usually not a good option. As for widescreen, that is the little black bars on the top and bottom. This is the best rendition of how the movie looked at the theater. On a 27" TV you loose a little bit of your picture but it is still my favorite. Some DVDs come with a Standard, which is where they cut the stuff for you.

Colin Dunn

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Colin Dunn
In my opinion, widescreen is the only way to go. The only exception: When a movie was filmed in the 1.33:1 aspect ratio of the TV screen.

The pan-and-scan process chops off the sides of the picture. This can greatly alter the composition of the shot, and often will leave entire characters out of the shot.

Additional pans are also added that weren't in the original film, which can disrupt the flow of scenes.

It is true that the letterbox framing for widescreen doesn't use the entire display space of the TV. However, the framing/composition and flow of the film are preserved intact.

Just about everyone here strongly prefers to keep the film intact - it's a matter of artistic integrity that takes precedence over using every square inch of screen space. Now you know why HT fanatics want big screens or projection systems - to get the impact of a large picture AND keep the film intact.

Bill Catherall

Screenwriter
Don't worry about the "smaller" image of widescreen movies on your 27" TV. I have a 27" TV as well and you get used to it. If your TV is properly calibrated then the black bars will virtually disappear (because they'll really be black instead of grey).