DVD Decoder problem for computer

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Josh Simpson, Jul 19, 2003.

  1. Josh Simpson

    Josh Simpson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    0
    First I want to apologize if this isn't in the right forum. I'm stumped. I recently upgraded an older AMD 700 Windows 98 to XP. Ok, no problem there. My brother recently bought a new DVD burner for his new gateway, so he gave me his dvd rom. I installed it fine, everything works fine. I put in a dvd and it installs Interactual player, and another dvd installed PC friendly dvd. Well, when I put a dvd in to play the actual movie I get a message saying "cannot find dvd decoder." Then with interactual I get sent to their site where I can buy one for 29 bucks. Is there something I can install for free to get this to work. I've looked at the Gateway Drivers disc and XP, and can't seem to find the problem. Can anybody help? I thought I might try and see if I can burn Windvd from my brother's computer and see if I can try installing that and see if that will help. So whenver I open a dvd in media player, interactual, or pc friendly, it says that a decoder cannot be found. Any help would be great.
     
  2. Josh Simpson

    Josh Simpson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry moderator, I thought I looked closely to make sure I didn't put it in the wrong place, and I still did.
     
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need to uninstall that junk. Interactual and PCFriendly have ruined DVD playback on more systems than I can count
     
  4. Josh Simpson

    Josh Simpson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I uninstalled that stuff, but that still doesn't change the fact my computer says that a dvd decoder isn't installed on my computer.
     
  5. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had interactual and uninstalled it, but sometimes when I put in a dvd my ATI media player pops up and ALSO the interactual install screen pops up. How can I completely remove any trace of interactual?
     
  6. Robert_Gaither

    Robert_Gaither Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem your encountering is that you don't have a licensed DVD decoder software to play a DVD with. You will need to purchase some form of software (windvd, powerdvd, etc) to perform the playback, if your brother has a gateway computer (and thus the license to use software on the computer) he most likely can't transfer it to you as most likely it will use a form of hardware key to unlock the software for his computer. The thing is that though he now owns a burner, if it came with a DVD decoder software then he may be able to transfer this to you legally but double check the paper work under the license agreement.
     
  7. Josh Simpson

    Josh Simpson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Robert. I did that just a bit before you posted. I searched and found his Windvd cd, and installed it and now it's all hunky dory. Thanks.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page