What's new

DVD Component Video via A/V Receiver or Direct to TV? (1 Viewer)

David Glenn

Second Unit
This Saturday I'll be taking delivery on my KP57WV700 RPTV. :) I used to do my s-video switching through my Receiver (DA5ES). I've never used Component Video before so I'm not sure if what I'm asking even makes sense.
How much is lossed by connecting my dvd component video through my receiver versus going directly to my RPTV?
I basically need to know how many component cables I need to get.
Thanks in advance for your response.

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
David, congratulations on the new tv. :emoji_thumbsup:
I do not know Sony's specs off hand but I would imagine it can pass 480p with no problem and probably 1080i. I have an Outlaw 950 which is rated at 45 MHz, which is almost conservative these days, and it passes 1080i perfectly, at least to my eyes. Just remember if you use the receiver to switch make sure you buy an extra component cable to hook from the receiver to the tv. Good luck with your new investment, its gonna be a keeper.

David Glenn

Second Unit
Jed,

So your saying there should be no loss in picture quality when connecting through my receiver?

Thanks for the kind words and the advice.

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
David, you are going to hear opinions that claim that you should never use a receiver to switch video at all, no matter the bandwidth, because it is creating an unnecessary step for the signal which could theoretically cause loss in pq. I basically say that if my eyes and science back me up then I am fine with it. Give it a try and find out what camp you are in. I personally don't think you will see any picture loss, but believe it or not, I have been wrong before. :D
PS and you're welcome.

Brent Hutto

Supporting Actor