DVD Audio Player

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Greg Br, Mar 18, 2002.

1. Greg Br

Greg Br Second Unit

I have a buyer for my current dvd video player and I want to get into a DVD Audio player. I know there are no combo players out there except for the Pioneer 47a and that is $1000. I am just looking for a entry level player that will give me a chance to fool around with this new format. I have seen some JVC's but not sure what else I should check out. If anyone could make some recommendations that would be great. Thanks Greg.

2. DonWinzen

DonWinzen Stunt Coordinator

Greg, I am not an expert but my understanding is that Panasonic is coming out with the RP-82 which offers DVD Audio playback as well as CD. It will have the Sage chip as well. The price is below $300

3. Greg Br

Greg Br Second Unit

I am so new at this, what is a sage chip? Also when I am reading the playbacks of these players most say, DVD Video, VCD, DVD Audio, MP3, CD-R. I always assumed they would play regular cd's.

4. DonWinzen

DonWinzen Stunt Coordinator

The Sage chip is supposed to be void of the Chroma bug that is problematic with other types. And yes, CDs typically are on most DVD players (even though it uses a different laser pickup than DVD).

5. Greg Br

Greg Br Second Unit

another dumb question, what is the Chromo bug, and can pest contol take care of them

6. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor