Dummy Alert! Adding external amp to Denon AVR-4800

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bruce Berti, Feb 25, 2003.

  1. Bruce Berti

    Bruce Berti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Recently purchased a Harmon Kardon PA-2000 for the sole purpose of powering two outdoor speakers. I read both damn manuals and am confused on how to hook it up. Also once its hooked up and have the speakers plugged into it what exactly do I have to do on the face of the 4800 to activate it. Also, is there something in the setup menu to "turn on " an external amp. Thanks
     
  2. Jerry Klawiter

    Jerry Klawiter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I remember correctly the AVR-4800 has a multi room zone two outputs
    Just hook these two preouts to the amp inputs.
     
  3. Jerry Klawiter

    Jerry Klawiter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then just enable the multi room function and go with it.[​IMG]
     
  4. Bruce Berti

    Bruce Berti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I posted this weeks ago and am still having problems. The only thing I can get to work using the external amp throught he outdoor speakers is the tuner in the Denon. What am I missing? I need to attend a class for remedial hometheater people I think.
     
  5. AustinKW

    AustinKW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bruce,

    The "multi-room" feature is an analog pre-amp. This means it can only work on analog fed signals. So, to get your CD player, for example, to feed the outdoor speakers, you would have to run a pair of RCAs from the L/R outputs on your player to a set of RCA inputs on the receiver. You can still feed your main system using digital coax or toslink. It's just the multi-rooms that require analog inputs. Hope this helps.

    Austin
     
  6. Bruce Berti

    Bruce Berti Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you big time Austin!!!
     
  7. MikeMcGrew

    MikeMcGrew Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's a nice looking setup Bruce. Congrats.
     

Share This Page