Dumb question of the day

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ashford Little, Jun 24, 2002.

  1. Ashford Little

    Ashford Little Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason, the area in which I live has power outages several times a year, which in turn causes my preamp/proc. to lose it's memory. Do most current pre/proc's have some sort of memory or battery backup to save settings or is my situation normal?

    Thx

    RAL
     
  2. James Bergeron

    James Bergeron Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    1
    My receiver keeps it's memory for a long time, I had it unplugged for a month and it came up with the same settings. My dvd-player can last a few weeks as well.
     
  3. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most receivers and preamps retain their settings for days, weeks, or even months without power. For a semi-extreme example, I have an old Sony receiver (a Pro-Logic one) I only use for pool parties during the summer. As a result it'll be unplugged for 7-8 months at a time, and it still remembers all its settings. If yours isn't, perhaps something isn't quite right with it.

    What pre-pro do you have?

    Maybe you should plug it into a UPS so you're not having to set it up from scratch everytime the power goes out.

    KJP
     
  4. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...that's a very good question, and prompted me to check my manual. I'm sure it varies with the unit/model.
    My 2-year-old Yamaha RX-V800 has a memory back-up circuit that "prevents stored data from being lost even if this unit is set in the standby mode, the power cord is disconnected from the AC outlet, or the power supply is temporarily cut due to power failure.'
    After a week however, it says the FM presets stations may be cleared.
    A UPS bears some investigation. My general knowledge is that it takes a quite large VA unit and the need for a true or pure sine wave on an amplifier and perhaps video monitor (tv/HD-ready RPTV) and these babies can run to $1,000 or more. See what www.tripplite.com offers.
    Off-topic, I just noticed that my remote provides a Standby button, which I have never used; perhaps this saves the batteries somewhat.
     
  5. Wayne_T

    Wayne_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are no dumb questions!
    As has already been said, most receivers and pre/pros will keep their settings for quite a long time. Out of curiosity, what brand is yours?

    Wayne
     
  6. Ashford Little

    Ashford Little Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    The preamp in question is a Rotel RTC-970 Dolby PL preamp/processor with an outboard DD/DTS decoder. When the power goes out so do the settings which is annoying to say the least. I am anxious to upgrade by am hung up on the IEEE1394/DVI issue.
     

Share This Page