Dumb progressive scan question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave_P., Jan 23, 2002.

  1. Dave_P.

    Dave_P. Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 20, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I know the answer to this, but I just want to make sure. Do I have to have an HDTV tuner on my HD set or can I just get an HDTV-ready set to enjoy progressive scan (which my DVD player has)? Thanks.
     
  2. Jeff D

    Jeff D Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 1999
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOu just need a display with progressive scan input. HDTVs for the most part have progressive component input. Some manufacturers support different connections, most HDTV recievers have VGA, component or both outputs which can handle a progressive signal.

    The DVD players have component progressive output.

    The HDTV tuner only allows you to view HDTV sources. It would not even be in the path of the dvd player. Just keep in mind you will need enough inputs to support everything you plan on connecting. =)
     
  3. Dave_P.

    Dave_P. Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 20, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the quick response, Jeff!
     

Share This Page