(dumb me) win xp task bar is fat help!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Eric_L, Sep 27, 2003.

  1. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My 2 yr old dauhter did something to my desktop and now my win XP taskbar is double thick. The System tray has the icons stacked 3 wide and 3 high. Time - Day- and date are displayed one atop the other three high also. I've tried everything and I cannot get the taskbar back down to one thick. Anyone able to help?

    I fell like such a 'tard.
     
  2. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to drag it back down again. Make sure the 'Lock the taskbar' option isn't ticked when you right-click over it.
     
  3. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Believe me - I tried that many times already. Lock is not checked, and when I try to drag it down it will only go to the bottom of the screen (completely gone) or double - nothing in the middle. I suspect it has something to do with my system tray icons being squeezed together,(3X3) but I can't figure out what to do.
     
  4. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Prnt Screen your desktop and let us have a look. Try dragging it over to the left or right, then back down again.
     
  5. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Something similar happened to me and I finally found a nearly transparent line of a movable section of the toolbar. When I slid that over to the middle, the toolbar switched back to normal. I don't know what I did to mess it up in the first place, but it frustrated me for about an hour.
     
  6. Chas_T

    Chas_T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a thought as this has never happened to me, but would booting into "safe mode" allow you to fix the problem and adjust the tool bar?

    Charles
     
  7. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Scott - I'd post a screenshot, but I don't know how to post images here. Wouldn't mind learning butt...

    No more need. I found that line chris mentioned. It fixed everything. It was not the taskbar nor the systray, it was the quick launch icons.

    Thanks everyone for tolerating my ignorance. [​IMG]
     
  8. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad you were able to fix it--I know how you felt!
     

Share This Page