dts problem

MattAnder

Extra
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hey everyone. I'm new here and I'm sure DTS questions have been asked to death, but please bear with me. I tried to do a search, but wasn't successful. Anyway, I recently bought the 60th anniversay edition of Saving Private Ryan specifically for the the DTS sound. However, when I put in the disk and selected the DTS option I didn't get any sound. I thought maybe it was a bad disk and brought it back to Best Buy--they tested it and found nothing wrong with it. They told me to mess with my settings and make sure DTS was enabled. I was almost positive it was, but I messed with my settings anyway and still it didn't work. The bigger problem is that now I can't get DTS to work on any of my dvds even though it says dts on the player so I know it's at least trying to decode it. I don't know if it's because I screwed something up with the settings or what. Here's what I have for equipment:

Sony DVP NC600 dvd player
Marantz SR8200 receiver

Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
 

Bill Kane

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Messages
1,359
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Here is what's found in PRIMER/FAQ (see lefthand top in BASICS FORUM)

John Garcia
Santa Clara, Ca.
Member

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local Date and Time:
May 27th, 2004
03:51 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Member Since:
June 24th, 1999

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



First time Using DTS on my system and there is no sound when selecting DTS on a DVD. Dolby Digital and music are working though, why?

All three of these things MUST be present and configured for DTS playback:

1) Your receiver must be set to "Auto detect" or forced to DTS decoding.

2) In your DVD player's digital audio setup menu, you must ENABLE DTS. Dolby digital is on by default, and on 99.9% of players, DTS is NOT turned on from the factory.

3) Select the DTS track in the disc's setup menu.


The no.2 step is the most frequently overlooked.
 

MattAnder

Extra
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Bill, thanks for the response, but those issues have already been cleared up. The Best Buy dude (like he would actually know) suggested I do #2. Even though I was 99% sure dts was enabled on my player I messed around with my settings anyway, which didn't help at all for Saving Private Ryan. It was only after I messed with the settings that none of my dts disks work, but again I'm almost positive I put my settings back to where they were when dts worked. Any other ideas?

Neil, I'm not familiar with "bitstream" and have never seen that on my player or receiver.
 

PaulT

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
932
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Page 68 of the Manual if you aren't sure what the settings were when dts worked before:

You must set Digital Out: to ON
Dolby Digital: to DOLBY DIGITAL
DTS: to ON

If this is set up correctly then check Bill's post #1 above:
1) Your receiver must be set to "Auto detect" or forced to DTS decoding.

Can't think of anything else unless there is a problem with the dts track on your disc.
 

Tod Golden

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
82
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Try playing the disc with the DD track. If that doesn't work then I would think there is a connection problem or possibly a bad cable. Just a thought.

Tod
 

MattAnder

Extra
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I made sure those settings were correct and still none of my disks work with dts. This is really ticking me off because I know for a fact that I used to get dts before. I don't understand what's different. Does anybody know how to make my receiver "auto detect"? I don't remember ever seeing that option when I set up my receiver. I don't know if it makes a difference, but dts isn't shown on the receiver anywhere while the disk is being played, I mean the logo is there, so it supports dts, but dts doesn't show up anywhere like it's trying to decode it like it does on the player.
 

Mike_J_D

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
0
So you could play DTS movies on your DVD player before SPR. Or is this the first time you have tried? If you have been able to play DTS movies before SPR, and SPR doesn't work. Take it back to BB )again) and tell them that it won't play in your player. And that you have other DTS movies that do play on your player.

If this is your first attempt at playing a DTS DVD in your player then I would suggest doing step 2 again, without a DVD in the player. Turn DTS to on, and then how it is sent to "butstream" (sorry can't recall the actual correct terminology
). Then turn off the DVD player. Turn it back on and try SPR again. I will assume that the SR8200 is a DTS capable reciever. Since I am not familiar with Marantz products. I do see the 8400 on the Marantz website, and it is DTS capable, and my guess is the 8200 is a little older then it. So I'm guessing it is. If nothing works take it back. Make BB give you another DVD.

Good luck.
 

Mike_J_D

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
0
OK I see that you think you have. Have you actually gone into the menu on a DVD movie setup and choosen DTS. It usually askes you twice. If not then you have never watched a movie in DTS. The default is DD. I'm sure that you know this, but one can't be too sure


My Denon has the Auto detect button on the face of the reciever and on the remote. I am trying to find where it would be on yours. But the remotes on the Marantz website...well since they are Universals you can't see the buttons. LOL Wish I could help more. Go through your OSD and look for a button on you remote/face of your reciever.

Does your Marantz have OSD????

That might help
 

PaulT

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
932
Reaction score
0
Points
0
For auto detect on your receiver, check
Setup Main
/Input Setup
whatever Digital Input your DVD player is set to should have 'AT' set (for auto-detect).
eg if your DVD is plugged into Digital Input 2

1 Input Setup
DVD D2-AT

this is from the SR7400 Manual, I can't find one for the 8200 but generally the setups are similar.

If you also have Multichannel audio connections from your DVD player to Receiver, make sure you haven't selected the Multichannel Input when you want to have the receiver decode the dts track.
 

Lev-S

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 29, 2003
Messages
324
Reaction score
0
Points
0
out of curiosity, are you trying to select DTS on the receiver or on the DVD menu?
 

MattAnder

Extra
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hey everyone. Sorry I haven't been responding to my own post, but I've been outta town. I'll look at your responses tomorrow and see if any of them work. Thanks again.
 

Peter_W

Agent
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I thought the same thing too. I had to go into the setup section of the DVD, let the into pass (passes without sound), and when the movie actually starts, the processing and sound starts. My 2 cents.
 

MattAnder

Extra
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ok guys. Sorry about the length, but here's an update on my problem. Thanks again for all your responses so far. I appreciate you trying to help me. I just got done testing Saving Private Ryan on my parents system and DTS worked just fine. I also tested American Beauty which for whatever reason the DTS didn't work on my system before. I don't know why I didn't take it back--I just figured it was too much hassle and the movie didn't need to have great sound for me to enjoy it, but that one worked too. Now I'm getting some new thoughts in my head. I'm no audiophile by any means, but I do consider myself at least somewhat versed in home theater basics, but is it possible that I've never even watched a movie in DTS before? Is it possible that I've been thinking I've been listening to DTS but really haven't? I doubt it because I know I've heard sound during the DTS intro (the piano deal) before. As I was typing this message I threw in Die Hard (on the other system) and DTS worked on that even though it didn't work on my system before either. It's very strange--on my system some DTS movies worked and some didn't, but now none of them work and on my parents system they all seem to work. I don't get it. Anyway, I tried the suggestions you guys gave and none of them worked. One thing I noticed on my parents receiver (Pioneer) the letters dts showed up on the display as the movie was playing. On my Marantz it doesn't do that. I never noticed anything showing up before, but do you think it should? Dts shows up on my player though.

Here's what my player settings are right now:
Audio ATT ON
Audio DRC Standard
DownMix Dolby Surround
Digital Out ON
Dolby Digital Dolby Digital
DTS ON

Do those look right?

Auto detect is enabled on my receiver--I checked
It's set to THX Cinema--I was told to always leave it on that setting while watching movies.

The receiver also has the words pro logic, analog and att displayed on it.

I can't think of anything else to include. I'm just trying to give you guys as much information as I can. Thanks.

P.S. Is it possible that my dvd player just conked out? I've been meaning to upgrade, so maybe this will be a good excuse.
 

PaulT

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
932
Reaction score
0
Points
0


To me this says that your receiver is not reading the dts signal from the DVD player (auto detecting it), or the DVD player is outputting only analog.

Go back into your receivers settings, and rather than setting it to 'Auto' try and see if you can force it to Digital by switching the AT to Dig, or whatever method is in your manual.

Now this may be a really stupid question, but you are using a digital connection from the DVD player to the receiver, and not the red/white analog ones, correct?

If none of the above works, either try a different DVD player on your receiver, or try your DVD player on a different receiver.
 

Jeff Gatie

Lead Actor
Joined
Aug 19, 2002
Messages
6,531
Reaction score
15
Points
5,610


90% of the time, when the receiver only says Pro-Logic and/or analog and the DTS does not work, this is the case. The poster should make sure he has a digital coax or optical connection from the DVD to the receiver, not just the analog R/W cables. If his DVD settings are what he listed, I suspect he does not have a digital connection.
 

ifor

Auditioning
Joined
May 5, 2003
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
if the reciever says analog then it is for sure the digital cable is not hooked up .
 

Mike_J_D

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Mar 3, 2003
Messages
213
Reaction score
0
Points
0


OOPS my bad :b
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,762
Messages
4,689,097
Members
141,030
Latest member
mariasarvr