What's new

DTS or DD for music? (2 Viewers)

Andrew O'Brien

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to Dolby Digital and DTS, a couple of music related DVD's that I have (not DVD_A) offer a choice of Dolby Digital or DTS for audio formats. Which do you guys usually choose? The DTS sound appear lower and not as good as DD on the couple of discs I have tried but I may not have my receiver set-up correctly for DTS.

Andy.

PhilBoy

Second Unit
I go out of my way to buy music dvd-v's that have a dts track...

Personal preference. Non negotiable .:)

Andrew O'Brien

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks. I think the Limey blokes from Coldplay cheated on their DVD. It was labeled DTS and the DVD Player even allowed me to select DTS but the DTS light on my receiver was never activated. I switched DVDs to the Binonic Movie , it lit the DTS light on the receiver. Sound was better than DD, IMO.

Andy

PhilBoy

Second Unit
It's all personal preference... but, here's a few I have found that shine in the dts mode:
Heart - Alive in Seattle
Peter Gabriel - SWL
Zeppelin - How The West...
U2 - Go Home

There is one, 'Rattle & Hum' that has a DD track that ROCKS. Best DD I've heard .

Ben_wood

Stunt Coordinator
I agree with PhilBoy, dts is invariably my first choice. Try the Eagles "Hell Freezes Over" dvd in dts. Awesome :D :emoji_thumbsup:

DaveDickey

Stunt Coordinator
DTS is less compressed than DD, or so I'm told...which causes it to sound better during playback.

DTS does sound better to me than DD. In fact, when offered a choice, I go straight to DTS.

Experiment with both. I think you'll agree

:) Dave

A second vote for Diana Krall Live in Paris - that is still one of my favorite demo discs.

Also, The Who: Live at Royal Albert Hall is fantastic.

James USAF

Agent
Waiting for my Grateful Dead "The Closing of Winterland". Think it is their first DVD that has a DTS track. Hoping for some Phil bombs. :D

Rich Malloy

Senior HTF Member