DTS doesnt use a Subwoofer?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Nick Jablome, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. Nick Jablome

    Nick Jablome Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was watching Saving Private Ryan (DTS version), and i noticed that the Subwoofer light wasnt on my receiver. I switched Pro Logic 2 mode, and then the subwoofer was on again. I have NEO:6 on my receiver. Does DTS not use a subwoofer at all?
     
  2. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Do you have the subwoofer set to yes in your DTS mode?
    Does the subwoofer work with other DTS titles?
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    List your receiver make and model. It's most likely a setting on the receiver. And I'm moving this to the Receivers section.

    Most DTS tracks do include the LFE channel (that's the ".1" in "5.1"). But even those that don't will send information to the subwoofer if the receiver's crossover is set to route low frequencies there.

    M.
     
  4. craig_curtis

    craig_curtis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glen Ridge, NJ
    Real Name:
    Craig
    not only that, but saving private ryan has one of the best DTS surround tracks ever... my LFE on the sub sounds amazing...

    what kind of receiver is it?
     
  5. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Make sure you set it to straight DTS with a digital connection such as coax or optical, NOT the basic RCA stereo L/R that is used with ProLogic2 or DTSNeo:6. How do you have your DVD player hooked up to your reciever? I think its kinda odd you are able to select DPL2 or DTSNeo with a DTS signal. Make sure you have the correct connections.

    DTS on your SPR is totally different from DTSNeo6. DTSNeo6 is a pseudo-surround format like ProLogic that creates surround sound from a stereo source. DTS is a digital audio format that is DISCRETE 5.1 channel surround sound (whereas DTSNeo6 is not discrete).

    If its all hooked up correctly, check that the audio output is set to BITSTREAM (or digital out, not Analog 2ch or PCM).

    Since its only your SUB thats affected, im pretty sure its just your reciever tahts not setup correctly.
     
  6. Nick Jablome

    Nick Jablome Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yah see i didn't want to get that much into that, but thanks anyway.


    Richard - Yah i have the sub set on, but it might be because i dont have a digital connection, only analog.

    Michael - Thanks for clarifying, i thought DTS was 5.1
     
  7. Mark Olton

    Mark Olton Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    DTS is 5.1 discrete channels (including an LFE channel), but you'll need a digital connection to get it. Neo:6 is matrix encoded onto two channels, so you can get it with an analog connection. The subwoofer channel is generated by bass management in the receiver, so perhaps there's a setting on your receiver to send more bass to the sub (like setting your mains to "Small").
     
  8. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2

    You're welcome. However, DTS isn't necessarily 5.1. I've seen some DTS tracks that are 5.0 (i.e., no LFE channel).

    Don't confuse the presence or absence of the LFE channel with subwoofer activity. They aren't the same thing. Again, it all depends on your receiver and how it's configured.

    M.
     
  9. ty_diaz

    ty_diaz Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just watched Saving Private Ryan last night and subwoofer worked no problems on the DTS version of the DVD.
     
  10. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    As Nick mentioned, it sounds like your player is set to PCM (stereo) rather than bitstream for DTS, which is why it goes to NEO:6.
     

Share This Page