dts CD?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul Arnette, Mar 10, 2003.

1. Paul Arnette

Paul Arnette Cinematographer

Hi all.

I am new to the Music Area section of the Home Theater Forum, so please excuse me for being so uninformed on the subject of high-quality music media such as DVD-A and SACD.

I have recently purchased a Pioneer DV-47Ai, which will let me play the above formats, however, in reading the manual that came with my player I noticed there is an audio option that deals with what appears to be a setting for CD. I assume it means your everyday, run-of-the-mill CD and not DVD-A or SACD.

Essentially, it appears there is an option for PCM and one that is optimized for what they refer to as "dts CD". I had never heard of the term "dts CD", and I immediately wondered if they were referring to DVD-A encoded in dts (e.g. Queen: A Night at the Opera) as opposed to DVD-A encoded in DD (e.g. Alice Cooper: Welcome to My Nightmare)? This assumption is, admittedly, based on a limited understanding of high-quality music media.

Are there "regular" CDs encoded in dts that are not DVD-A or SACD? If so, is this, most likely, what they are referring to? If so, I imagine I will leave my setting on PCM, as I do not own any of these types of CDs.

Thanks.

2. Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

Christian Behrens
    Yes, there are CDs available that have a DTS signal encoded in the PCM stream. Every CD player can be used to play these, as long as it has a digital out connected to a DTS capable amp/receiver.

Do not try to play them on any other system, the noise at higher volumes could destroy speakers.

And Paul, you might want to use the Search function first next time [​IMG].

-Christian

3. Paul Arnette

Paul Arnette Cinematographer

4. LanceJ

LanceJ Producer

Paul: Yep, that search engine can be TOO helpful sometimes!! [​IMG]