DTS 5.1 or Dolby Digital 5.1????

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andre Aguiar, Sep 30, 2002.

1. Andre Aguiar

Andre Aguiar Agent

Which do you guys prefer? If you popped a movie in and both audio setups were available which would you choose and what setting would you put your receiver at?

For me, I always choose DTS and set my Onkyo 797 at THX Cinema. If I choose Dolby Digital 5.1 then I set my receiver to Dolby Digital.

Anyone else?

Andre

2. Arnold van Oostrum

I have no experience with THX settings. But the choice for the DTS track or the DD track is not always obvious in favor for DTS. For every disc I check both and then decide which is my favorite. There is neither better of worse as difference between DTS and DD. In most cases the DTS has better resolution in the high region, but mostly the DD has a bigger impact in the lower region.

3. Steve WC

Steve WC Stunt Coordinator

I always go with DTS. The dialog always seems better.

4. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    DTS is always a higher bitrate than DD, at least all that I have seen so far. I'd say 8 times out of 10, the DTS track sounds better, the other two times, they are about the same.

When it comes to 1509K DTS vs 448K DD, there is no question, but even half bitrate DTS (754K) still typically sounds better than DD. A lot of it has to do with the mastering.

Do a search, this has been covered many times.

5. Pablo Abularach

Pablo Abularach Supporting Actor

My favorite is DTS, is sounds clearer, sharper, and louder. I wish all DVD's came in DTS.

6. Robert Franklin

Robert Franklin Stunt Coordinator

I'd rather have all dvd's with dts as well. I got my Onkyo TX-DS 939 fitted with an MSB dts upgrade board. I prefer to listen to DD/DTS in THX mode.

To me, DTS sounds more like how it would sound in the theater!

7. John Chow

John Chow Second Unit