What's new

Drive Image, anyone using it on their PC? (1 Viewer)

Frank_S

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 28, 1999
Messages
565
I have Windows 95 OS on a computer I've had for several years with Applications software on it that I can no longer reload should my hard-drive fail.
I have a Jazz drive in my system so could I clone everything (using Drive Image) including applications from my C: drive to my Jazz drive and then restore it to a new hard-drive with all apps. and data functioning? :)
Could I run everything from my Jazz drive if I did'nt replace the defective harddrive?, that would be even better actually. Thanks in advance. :)
 

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2000
Messages
4,260
Real Name
Nick So
I really doubt you could boot off a Jaz drive, and I don't think that the Jaz drive is fast enough to run programs and an OS off of...
 

Travis Olson

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
940
Real Name
Travis Olson
I really doubt you could boot off a Jaz drive, and I don't think that the Jaz drive is fast enough to run programs and an OS off of...
I did it off a Zip Drive once, granted I was running the OS bare bones without a single program running, it was ungodly slow. I managed to play Solitaire though. :D
 

SteveMc

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
230
I am more familiar with norton's Ghost, but it works basically the same. When you image a drive it compresses (usually) the data into one file. So if you did this and stored it on a Jaz disk, you would have to restore it to a HD in order to use it. I think there are some programs out there that simulates a CD-ROM as a hard drive and you can run an OS off that, but i am not totally sure on that one.
 

Frank_S

Supporting Actor
Joined
Oct 28, 1999
Messages
565
I really doubt you could boot off a Jaz drive, and I don't think that the Jaz drive is fast enough to run programs and an OS off of...
I have a SCSI setup so the Jazz drive runs quite fast. I have system commander loaded which partitions my hard-drive into 2 partitions. I still run Windows 3.1 for old DOS programs I have as well as Windows 95 on the 2nd partition. I can also boot to my floppy drive from the System Commander prompt.

Norton Ghost does'nt offer a Windows 95 package so that's out of the question. I also read a lot of negative reviews on Ghost so I think I want to stay clear of it anyway.
 

Thom B

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 11, 1999
Messages
213
I'm using DriveImage on ~ 20 lab machines here at work, and it should work well for backing up and restoring to a new drive.

Running off a Jazz drive, scsi or not, will cause something of a perf hit.

Another option to consider. Make a bootable CDR with the HD image and DriveImage sw on it. In the autoexec file you can set up a script to auto-restore when you boot from the CD. Drop me an email if you want assitance with the scripting.

T
 

KeithAP

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 4, 1999
Messages
1,232
Location
Sacramento
Real Name
Keith
Hi Frank,

I have Drive Image version 1.0, complete retail package, that has been sitting in my closet forever. It is the CD ROM version so it requires a CD drive.

The system requirements on the box indicate Win 95, Win 3.x, NT, DOS or OS/2. Intel 386 SX compatible or higher. 8MB of RAM (16MB recommended for FAT32 or NTFS). CD ROM drive, 5MB of disk space, VGA or better.

Anyway, I will sell it for $10 shipped USPS Priority Mail. FWIW, on the back of the box it says "Store the image file on a second hard drive, JAZ or Zip Drive, CD-ROM, etc.

If you are interested, drop me an email.

-Keith
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
348,361
Messages
4,843,318
Members
142,304
Latest member
gk7193
Recent bookmarks
0
Top