What's new

Doorbell Signaler (1 Viewer)

Seth G

Stunt Coordinator
I've been researching doorbell signalers the past couple of days because you absolutely cannot hear the doorbell when we are in the basement. I ran across this:

(Gee, I'd like to put a URL here, but the system won't let me. Anyway, if you google for Sonic Alert, it's the first match. Then go to Products and then Doorbell Signalers.)

And was wondering if anyone had heard anything about Sonic Alert or even better had any experience with them.

WarrenHH

Agent
Hiya Seth, I was wondering that myself, then it dawned on me that if I was in the HT, I didn't care about the doorbell :)
So I am not sure I am going to install anything like that..

MikeWh

Second Unit
I have no experience with the Sonic Alert, but I've been messing around with X-10 products lately and was considering an X-10 solution that is similar to the way Sonic Alert works.

This was a timely post-- Smarthome.com just put out a "Solution of the Week" with this topic:
http://www.smarthome.com/solution70.html

For $40 you can basically make a doorbell chime go off in the HT.... for about the same price as the Sonic Alert, you can make the lights flahs, turn down volume, etc. with X-10 capabilities.

A loooonnnggg time ago, I was thinking of installing a video intercom, so at least I could decide whether on not I actually wanted to go answer the door. Like WarrenHH though, I came to my senses and decided I don't need to be bothered by someone at my door during a movie anyway. :D

Seth G

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks for that link. I had wandered around x10's website the other day (ugh, what a terrible website), and couldn't find anything.