Dolby Digital on Gamecube

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David J Wang, Nov 26, 2001.

  1. David J Wang

    David J Wang Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know Gamecube does not support Dolby Digital 5.1 but I was at Software Etc the other day and I was looking at the back of Batman:Vengeance and it says on the game case that you can play the game in Dolby 5.1 Surround and it also has the Dolby Digital logo on it. Is this an error on the part of the publishers of Batman:Vengeance or is there a way or going to be a way to play DD 5.1 supported games on the Gamecube?
     
  2. Matty B

    Matty B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    The X-Box supports DD 5.1 and DTS via the HD Pack.
     
  3. David J Wang

    David J Wang Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Ryan Peter

    Ryan Peter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard it was a mistake, and it won't have 5.1.
     
  5. Dave Falasco

    Dave Falasco Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has been discussed a few times before; I believe the lack of a digital audio output on the Gamecube means that it can not pass a Dolby Digital signal. There are some 'Cube titles that incorporate a matrixed surround format called Dolby Pro Logic II (Rouge Leader is one), but one would need a receiver that supports that.
     
  6. Matty B

    Matty B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh whoops. Sorry. Nope, the GCN only does DPL2 because of NINTENDO'S CHOICE. The GCN's sound chip is capable of outputting DD 5.1 and DTS, Nintendo chose not to release the cables for it at this point though.
     
  7. Jay W

    Jay W Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't the lack of a digital audio out more reason for it rather than no cables? [​IMG]
     
  8. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    115
    The GameCube is capable of 5.1, it just doesn't have the right output and/or cables.

    I think that 5.1 has to be done on the software though.

    While we're at it, the PS2 can do DTS in real-time.
     
  9. David J Wang

    David J Wang Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if Nintendo just designed a video cable that also had an optical or coax audio cable attached to it that was to be plugged into the Digital Port then Gamecube could theoretically output DD 5.1? And if so, then does Batman:Vengeance for Gamecube support DD 5.1 since it said it did on the back of the game cover? And in turn, does that foreshadow that Nintendo will indeed sell a Digital Video cable w/optical,coax connection?
     
  10. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    115
    Well the GCN has to be made to actually output the signal. If the signal can be passed through the extra port, then they could make a cable for it.
     
  11. Gary King

    Gary King Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PS2's one DTS game is nothing like what "real-time DTS" might imply... Directionality is weak in SSX:Tricky on the PS2, and pans are very unnatural. Even on the off-chance that a digital output cable is produced for the Gamecube, you're not going to get the same surround quality that you get on the Xbox... 64 full HRTF voices + Dolby Digital/DTS compression is quite a bit of computation - it's not just a matter of flicking a switch if it has to be done in software. The MCP is quite a bit more powerful than either the Cube's or the PS2's sound chips.

    Given the choice between PS2 SSX:Tricky style surround, or HRTF positional sound with Pro Logic II output, Cube owners will be much more pleased with the latter...
     
  12. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theoretically couldn't they produce some kind of RF remod like for Laser Discs? Wouldn't that work with analog outs?
     
  13. Richard Knight

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Given that the Nintendo outputs are proprietary, and that staff at Nintendo have mentioned several times the possibility of DD5.1/DTS, the possibility is probably there to do a digital out on one of either the digital or analog plug.

    Now, I actually find the SSX:Tricky DTS mode to be quite good, but the game isn't getting DTS for free - its using one of the two "vector units" to perform the encoding calculations. Good for using the hardware, bad for graphical improvements down the road. Still sounds better than PLII, on my receiver anyway.

    As shown by MGS2, stereo signals still can kick ass, though.

    A question, though...since when did X-Box have the ability to hardware encode DTS? I see plenty of mention about the dolby supplied DD5.1 (AC3) hardware, but nothing about their archrival.

    Richard
     
  14. DaveM

    DaveM Extra

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure about the use of DTS in games but in the Audio setup of the dashboard, you can enable both Dolby Digital and DTS [​IMG]. So the Xbox does have the ability but like I said, I am not sure of the use in games in the future. I don't use my Xbox as a DVD player so I can't test that either.
     
  15. Gary King

    Gary King Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xbox doesn't encode in DTS, only Dolby Digital (and probably only 640kbps 5.1 Dolby Digital).
     

Share This Page