Does technology tend to bring out the worst in us?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by JohnRice, May 27, 2006.

1. JohnRice

JohnRice Lead Actor

John
    OK, some of you already know I am a Commercial Photographer and have been photographing since grade school, which makes for over 30 years, and that I am, well, tenuous, about the effects of digital technology on the art aspects of photography. Many people have mistaken my feelings as being "old school" or somehow resistant to the changes, when nothing is further from the truth. I shoot digital, happily. I just know it is not what most people think it is, particularly ones who really should know better. It takes far too much and requires far too much technical and aesthetic understanding of photography to really explain that, so I'll just leave it at that.

My real point is what I see as the often overwhelming negative result that technology seems to have on so many people. Just to touch again on photography, I am constantly frustrated (disgusted is really more like it) at the widespred perception that digital somehow removes the need for talent. Actually, this is nothing new, since it has always been too common to believe that using expensive equipment makes you talented, but digital has brought it to new levels.

I also don't want to get into one of my digital photography rants, because it is actually the current issue of the new HD formats which made me want to post this. The many threads in the HD sections, with bashing, name calling, accusations and generally childish behavior, all the more remarkable considering one of the 2 formats isn't even available yet and the other has only 1 player (from what I can tell) and a handful of titles. These exchanges give me fond memories of those civil discussions about DD vs. DTS.