Does speaker wire go bad?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom_Mack, Oct 15, 2002.

1. Tom_Mack

Tom_Mack Stunt Coordinator

I'm wondering if my Home Depot 12 gauge wire has gone bad...

For awile now my Paradigm Monitor series speakers have been sounding very "thin" with a big muddy gap in the mid bass to lower midrange. Bass would just disappear when running my mains large in 2 channel mode. There was much more bass when the (calibrated) sub was added to the mix.

Speaker positioning didn't help and the bass was missing even if I had my head to the speaker.

I have been using Home Depot 12 gauge speaker wire since December 1999. So yesterday, I bought some smaller gauge Monster XP speaker wire and things really cleaned up! I was able to run my mains large without having the "thin" sound. Not much difference when I added the sub (actually I turned the sub down some). The highs actually seemed to clear up some and overall imaging improved. The Paradigm Monitor 7s are still are a tad bright, but I believe upgrading my Yamaha RXV-596 receiver will help that.

Now, I thought that speaker wire didn't go bad. Am I wrong? Will a higher cost speaker wire help me even more.

2. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor

Sounds like you might've had a bad connection. How're the wires terminated in either case?

3. Bill_Weinreich

Bill_Weinreich Second Unit

I'd have to agree with Chu. Unless corrosion has gotten pretty bad in the wires or they have been flexed or abused enough to cause breaks in the strands, I would say it was a connection problem. Sometimes those problems can be avoided by regularly removing the wires and use a good contact cleaner/conditioner.

Bill

4. Tom_Mack

Tom_Mack Stunt Coordinator