Does Laser Rot Always Get Worse Over Time?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kelly W, Aug 8, 2002.

1. Kelly W

Kelly W Second Unit

Okay, I've read all the posts I could find about laser rot, but I still have a question.

I just bought my first laserdisc player (thanks to Star Wars, of course) and I found a copy of Yellowbeard (not on DVD) at a local used bookstore. When I play the disc, I see a bunch of horizontally-traveling colored snowy dots on the screen and the sound gets a little distorted every once in a while. Based on what I've read, I believe this is laser rot. (But correct me if I'm wrong.)

My question is this: Will this disc gradually get worse?

Right now, it is "watchable" and since there is no DVD of the movie in sight, I am inclined to keep it. However, if in 6 months, this disc will be deteriorated further, I think I should maybe get my money back.

As I said, I am very new to this laserdisc stuff and I was hoping someone with more experience could lend me some advice.

Thanks!!!

-Kelly

2. Aaron Reynolds

Aaron Reynolds Screenwriter

Aaron Reynolds
    The few discs I've had rot (Contact, Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid, MCA's original Brazil and Mary Shelly's Frankenstein, and Batman Returns...pretty good, that's 5 out of 300) all seemed to get to a certain point and not get any worse. And actually, since I picked up a Pioneer D504, Butch Cassidy and Contact don't show their rot at all anymore, and Batman Returns is quite watchable. (Frankenstein was rotted when I bought it, so I returned it for another copy which has not rotted, and that Brazil disc is brutally bad.) The player really makes a difference in watching bad discs.

How old is that disc of Yellowbeard? Chances are it won't get any worse.

3. Randy Korstick

Randy Korstick Producer

Kelly