What's new

Does DTS include provisions for mono 1.0 like TrueHD? (1 Viewer)

JediFonger

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
YiFeng You
Dolby's TrueHD is scalable from 1.0 through 7.1 i think just like Dolby Digital.

is DTS-HD MA that flexible? i remember DTS lossy is only 2.0 or 4.0 or 5.1 and that's it.

Rolando

Screenwriter
I hope it is.

I know I am not the only one to think this but I will have to say it:
The original momo track should ALWAYS be available and in lossless or PCM. There is no reason not to unless the original master really deteriorated to the point where a re-mix was absolutely necessary.

Chad R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chad Rouch
Or, would a mono PCM track take up as much room as a multi-channel PCM track? If not, then I say include the mono as PCM.

Rolando

Screenwriter
I am no expert (and am not being sarcastic either) but I assume that a single track PCM should take up about 1/5 to 1/6 the space of 6 track PCM

Nick Martin

Senior HTF Member
A 48/16 mono PCM track is 768kbps.

A stereo PCM (same specs) is 1536kbps.

A 6 channel PCM is 4608kbps.

So like the bitrate, the total size is simply double or triple depending on the number of channels.

Roger_R

Second Unit
The tendency is to do 2.0 mono though so people get the sound coming from their front left and front right speakers instead of the one by the TV.

JediFonger

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
YiFeng You
so dts-hd ma does NOT have as many provisions as truehd, correct?

Sanjay Gupta

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Sanjay Gupta