What's new

Does Big-screen/HD gaming make you better? (1 Viewer)

EdR

Second Unit
I'm fairly new to big screen gaming. After borrowing a DLP projector from work, I decided that I needed to own one. A little over a week ago I got an NEC LT260 DLP (which I am extremely happy with)

I'm noticing a trend in some games which I'm curious if others have noticed. In most racing games, I've handily beaten my best times (which were set on a 27" TV), in other games (like Rez) my scores have improved.

I haven't had the projector long enough to check this trend with all my games, but I'm guessing that being able to see more makes you better able to react in fast-moving games.

Is this what others have experienced?

EDIT: Spelling

Dean Cooper

Supporting Actor
Yep, I totally agree. I play much better in almost all games on the bigger screen. Congrats on the projector!

Dean

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
Last night during SOCOM i used a 36" TV for the first time and I was on fire, so yes I do think a bigger TV helps out alot.

Dave_Olds

Stunt Coordinator
you are immersed inthe game much more....instead of looking thru a little window - its like being in the game itself....Instead of you being bigger then the game - the game is bigger than you....

Better? not sure....More fun? DEFINITELY

EdR

Second Unit
For sure it's more fun, but I was surprised to see my old times fall.

Especially in WRC, which I played a LOT on my old TV, and had runs I thought I'd never beat. I sat down to play again after a bit of a layoff, and in no time I was wiping out my old times.

I felt like I could see the subtleties in the tracks, that I guess I missed on the small screen.

I had a similar experience in RalliSport, especially in the iceracing. I found it very dificult to even stay on the track for a 7 lap race, but on a 70" screen I finished first one of those difficult races.

Troy LaMont

Supporting Actor
I don't think it makes you better, it does afford you better visibilty and detail.