does anybody here work in computer graphics field?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by felix_suwarno, Jun 21, 2002.

1. felix_suwarno

felix_suwarno Screenwriter

there should be at least a few of you.

please share your experience to me! i am a grad student at depaul university. my major is computer graphics, developer path, minor in human computer interaction.

i am attending siggraph at san antonio next month, and i might be able to get the masters degree june next year.

can anybody tell me how to create a port folio, find a job, etc etc? people told me that the economy is slumping right now, but i guess people still need entertainment...

2. JoshF

JoshF Supporting Actor

Felix:

I have a small interactive firm here in NYC, and while the economy isn't what it used to be, for small design shops like mine, things are actually picking up.

Your background in HCI will definitely help, as there has been a pretty recent recognition by clients of usability and the user-centered design approach. Pump that up as much as you can on your resumes.

Your location will also make a difference. Urban areas tend to be best for computer and web design just because of the amount of small firms. If you can, avoid the big agencies - you'll end up doing production design and won't get much out of it for your portfolio.

Have fun at Siggraph! Just don't get caught up in the cult of personality - designers are NOT celebrities.

-joshua

3. felix_suwarno

big agencies? please explain josh! i really wanna know the details.

"Just don't get caught up in the cult of personality"

what does that mean? i know i am not and dont want to be a celebrity. my goal in life is to do what i like to do, grow and educate my kids, be purchase a kick ass home theater system ( ha ! )

thanks BIG time.

4. JoshF

JoshF Supporting Actor

Felix: