What's new

Do your school grades reflect who you are today? (1 Viewer)

Haris Ellahi

Second Unit
Real Name
Haris Ellahi
I am 18 and in high school and was wondering if the grades you got in school reflect who you are today? Meaning, if you got good grades, you have a "good" job now? And if you got bad grades, do you have a "bad" job now?

Leila Dougan

Screenwriter
I don't have a bad job now, but I'm on my way to having a great job. Gotta pay my dues first. In HS I graduated top of my class and in college I had mostly As and a few Bs. However, my work ethic is a reflection of my grades: I work very hard, am near a perfectionist, and maker sure everything is done accurately and efficiently.

Alex Spindler

Senior HTF Member
Leila nailed it. If your grades are a reflection of your work ethic, than it will reflect how you are later in life. If you had achieved those grades through natural aptitude or by careful placement of classes, then you may not fare so well.

Of course, with the volatile job market today, anything goes. There are a ton of very talented and extremely hardworking people who are struggling to find and maintain employment.

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
I'm a serious under-achiever.

But I was remarkably consistent in getting the same GPA in high school, college, and grad school.

I even took the SAT twice and scored the exact same score. Weird, eh?

SteveA

Supporting Actor
Your grades are a reflection of your aptitude and work ethic at the time you earned them. Although a person's natural abilities are unlikely to evolve over time, their work ethic often does.

I graduated in the bottom half of my high school class back in 1990, yet I still managed to graduate from a respectable university and go on to a fulfilling career. My work ethic today at age 31 bears little resemblance to the work ethic of the teenage slacker that I used to be.