What's new

Do you think broadcasters will all eventually adopt HDTV or SDTV? (1 Viewer)

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
I'm still new to this, so tell me if I have this wrong. But the way I understand it is, with the new technology, broadcasters will have the option of transmitting a single HDTV show or give the viewer multiple viewing options in standard resolution (SDTV).
For example, our CBS affiliate here broadcast the NCAA tournament in SDTV, giving the viewer the option to choose between multiple games to watch on the same channel. (article is here.)
Which makes me wonder, what is the incentive for broadcasters to go with HDTV programming rather than multicast? Yeah, you get a "prettier picture" with the HD, but you can sell more advertising with the multicast.
Will there really be a day when all I see on my TV is 1080 resolution?

VicRuiz

Second Unit
No, HDTV will not be 24/7, at least for a while. They will settle on a combination of some multicasting during the day and HDTV in prime time and special events.

The problem with multicasting is what are you going to put in all those other channels? A network executive complained once: "Where are we going to get all this programming from? We're having a hard enough time filling the one channel we have now! HDTV will cost me money, but multicasting will kill me!"

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
I also think that the emphasis will be on HD, as opposed to multicasting. The satellite and cable services have probably already picked up the biggest opportunities for multicasting: the ability to look at multiple sports events at the same time. And that is the example cited in the article you reference—multiple basketball games. Interested parties can already sign up for NFL/NBA/NHL multiple packages. How much can be supported?

Prime time and event HD is rapidly becoming the norm (except for Fox) and with the latest announcements by ABC/ESPN, major sports events are yet another step closer.