1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Do You realy need Dolby Prologic or DPL II

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Don K, Jan 5, 2002.

  1. Don K

    Don K Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm thinking of buying a Nad 761 but it does not have Dolby Prologic. The dealer said unless you listen to alot of video tape you really don't neet it. Doesn't DPL and DPL II take ordinary tv broadcasts and coverts it into 5 channel sound? If so I would definitely want this feature.
     
  2. Jim Carr

    Jim Carr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. PascalC

    PascalC Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have de Denon 2802 and I realy like the DPL II!
     
  4. Mike_A

    Mike_A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would be VERY surprised if the NAD does not have prologic. I think every dolby digital decoder chip ever made has a prologic program as well. It may not explicitly state prologic on the receivers face plate, but check the manual or the NAD website. Now there's a good chance it doesn't have prologic II unless it states it on the front panel - Dolby's got a new logo for that that says Dolby Digital and Pro Logic II all together.
     
  5. Don K

    Don K Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was a very informative website Jim. Thanks for sharing it with me.
     
  6. Don K

    Don K Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nad comes with Dolby Digital and Doby Theater System but not Dobly Prologic. Even the Nad Dealer said it does not come with it.
     
  7. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    That is a good article. I was/AM also not that impressed with PL-II myself also. I am comparing it to 5.1 discrete sound however, which is not entirely fair, and my reciever also only has the "basic" PL-II (non adjustable). Couple that with the fact that I no longer even have a VCR in my main system, and in the bedroom where it now is, it also is basically unused because of the DVD in there also. I want to be fair to PL-II, and it was one of the factors when I was lookiing for my new receiver (settled on Marantz SR6200) so I can't say I wasn't interested. When I started using PL-II however, I don't see it as a night and day improvement, though it is noticably better than DPL, particularly for music. I don't think it comes close enough to true 5.1 to make me happy.

    CS5.1 (Circle Surround) does a much better and more convincing job, IMO.
     
  8. DougRuss

    DougRuss Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read the Product manual.......
    It does do Pro-logic! My NAD T760 does it , so does the T761......
    NAD T761
    The Salesperson should know his product.?[​IMG]
    * Read the last paragraph in the "Ease of Use" section.
    Also.....Don the EARS Feature on that Receiver does a great job of handling the audio from your TV.
    Review says it, also.
     
  9. Jason Wolters

    Jason Wolters Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No PLII? Not in a million years for me.[​IMG]
    Need it? I don't know if you do, but I surely do. It is a satisfactory compromise for many of us left with analog cable TV.
     
  10. Randy Prue

    Randy Prue Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm going to go read that article. I play CDs, VHS tapes, and old movies on DVD (no 5.1 sound track), and the ProLogic II is often the best of all the processors at delivering an excellent 5.1 sound from sources that do not have it (mono and stereo sources).

    Circle Surround sometimes. 5-channel stereo sometimes, DSP rarely, DTS Neo sometimes, but ProLogic II is the one I would not part with, if I had to select only one processor, after DTS and Dolby Surround. DTS is my absolute favourite sound track.
     
  11. BruceD

    BruceD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John,
    I think you hit the nail on the head basic non-adjustable DPL-2 is really a waste of time and money. Those manufacturers providing this form of brain-dead DPL-2 should be ashamed.
    You won't get the true benefit of DPL-2 unless you get the full-blown version with all it's adjustments so you can adjust it to your speaker/room configuration.
    Then, as many have indicated, it will approach DD 5.1 in it's capabilities with normal 2-channel sources (analog VCR, analog TV, digital DD 2.0, digital DD Stereo, digital DD Surround) for HT.
    For music, the adjustments are critical if you don't want to be sitting in the middle of the band.
    Just IMHO.
    BruceD
     
  12. Mark Austin

    Mark Austin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NEED????? Not in the least. Some people want it and use it. I never use DPL, so I would say you need it.
     
  13. Tina_H_V

    Tina_H_V Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2000
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Real Name:
    Tina
    As for myself, let me be counted in the number of those who advocate DPL II as a home theater listening option.
    From the time I finally got my Onkyo 797 all the way together, I was instantly amazed at how well DPL II sounds on the LPCM Digital Dolby Surround Soundtracks of my laserdiscs. It has made many of my LD's with no more than Dolby Surround come fully and all-the-way alive!!!!! I just love the way my stereo signals are enhanced, my center channel fortified, my surround signals are now full-range and better audibly and my sub, when applicable, is getting a hearty output now from the magnified bass signals present inside of the native 2-channel feed. As well, it has fared well for me on non-discrete DVD's with no more than a Dolby Surround soundtrack on them.
    Needless to say, I do indeed dig it!!! [​IMG]
     
  14. GordonL

    GordonL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2000
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most, if not all, over the air broadcast is in DPL, at least the prime-time stuff as well as most movies. So yes, you do need at least DPL. DPL II is DPL enhanced so it's nice to have if you can get it. All equipment that have DD have DPL by default for backwards compatibility - I think it's part of the spec.
     
  15. Mal P

    Mal P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2000
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From my experiences with PLII, it is useful, to a certain degree, with film and TV based sources. A good ambient effect can be created.

    However, the idea of using PLII for music doesn't appeal to me at all. The best part of using good speakers and good amplification is the wonderful stereo sound that's created, where you get a wonderful soundstage with just two channels. Distorting the sound by forcing it to come from the rears etc, seem to defeat the purpose.

    Cheers,

    Mal
     
  16. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd agree with the previous post. For me it is a nice to have mainly because of cable TV. But using it with music just sounds bad on my system, way too un-natural. The added effects of trying to force music to speakers that the source wasn't recorded in just doesn't make sense, nor does it work.

    Might as well listen to your favorite CDs in "rock arena" mode.

    So - do you need pro logic2? If you listen to prologic sources and want the added flexibility PL2 provides then yes. if not, then no.
     
  17. Sergio Stephano

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i love dpl2 it's a major difference to tv veiwing..it is usefull, yes. take my word for it =)
     
  18. Mark Austin

    Mark Austin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  19. JordanM

    JordanM Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DPLII is a great way to play DPL sources like my 100+ pre-recorded tapes and my 50+ LaserDiscs with 5.1 quality sound.

    Anyone with an older collection of video software should get a DPLII receiver to update their sound to DVD Dolby Digital or DTS near quality.
     
  20. Tim_Speicher

    Tim_Speicher Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
     

Share This Page