What's new

Do you like your in-laws? (1 Viewer)

Bruce Berti

Stunt Coordinator
Mine arent bad people, I just have absolutely nothing in common with them. If they stop over I become like a piece of furniture. I love to talk sports and my father in-law doesnt know the difference between a baseball and a football. Professionally, he is a maintenance man(not that there's anything wrong with that) and I'm an Accountant so we cant relate there. Neither one is motivated career wise and are 50ish years old and still live in an apartment. I really try when they stop by, for my wifes sake, but its difficult. They are very nice people but we are so different its incredible. Anyone else have this situation, and how do you cope?

Jason Seaver

Senior HTF Member
Well, not being married, I don't have quite the same problem. I get along with my brother's wife OK, but I've really got nothing to say to the families of the people my parents married after they divorced. Heck, I don't even use step-words (I was 22 when they married; that's too old to call someone new any kind of mother/father/etc). All too often, my brother(s) and I will try to blow out of family get-togethers as quickly as possible, because there's not getting around the fact that if our families weren't connected by marriage, I'd never know these people.

Most of them are fairly pleasant people, and I can actually talk with some of them. But I'm big on finding something else to do.

Brian Kleinke

Supporting Actor
I get along with my wife's parents and sister just fine. I don't have any problems finding things to discuss. So alas I don't have any suggestions for ya :frowning:

Dennis Reno

Supporting Actor
Yes I like them. Very nice people, pleasant to be around.

I dated a girl in college for several years. We discussed getting married after graduating. Her mother was an overbearing b!tch. Looking back on it I think that her Mom was the #1 reason we broke up and were never able to patch things up.